I Think I Want to Marry You

I was listening to the radio a couple of weeks ago, when my little sister (13 years old) came into the room . The song that was playing was Bruno Mars’s song ‘Marry You’. I was working on something and not paying attention to the song,

‘Cause it’s a beautiful night
We’re looking for something dumb to do
Hey baby
I think I wanna marry you

My sister stopped what she was doing and commented on the song: I would hope you know you want to marry someone.

Her response surprised me. First, because I had heard the song before but never realized how awful the lyrics are. And second, because at 13 years old she had noticed a problem in this guy’s “proposal” that I hadn’t. Smart girl!

The rest of the lyrics don’t redeem the song. They’re almost too awful to be taken seriously; like a parody of reasons an impulsive, inebriated couple used to get married.

We’re looking for something dumb to do
Hey baby
I think I wanna marry you

Marrying someone might be a “dumb” thing to do, but I would hope this would convince you not to, instead of choosing to enter into a marriage as some sort of frivolous pastime.

Is it the look in your eyes
Or is it this dancing juice?
Who cares, baby
I think I wanna marry you

Don’t make any major life decisions if you’re intoxicated. This is common-sense, but not if you’re drunk, I guess. 🙂

Well, I know this little chapel
On the boulevard we can go
No one will know
Oh, come on girl

Any guy who wants to marry you but doesn’t want anyone to know he is marrying you is a definite NO WAY.

Who cares if we’re trashed
Got a pocket full of cash we can blow
Shots of patron
And it’s on, girl

Again, major life decisions and alcohol don’t mix well. Though they do mix together quite easily, way too easily and often. 😛

Don’t say no, no, no, no, no
Just say yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah
And we’ll go, go, go, go, go
If you’re ready, like I’m ready

Not a good sign if the guy tells you not to say ‘No’ to his proposal, before giving you a chance to answer him.

I’ll go get a ring
Let the choir bells sing like
Ooh, so what ya wanna do?
Let’s just run, girl

Now he’s bribing with jewelry…

If we wake up and you
Wanna break up, that’s cool
No, I won’t blame you
It was fun, girl

As if divorce is just a walk in the park; maybe you should do more of that (walking in the park) before deciding to get married or not. 🙂

 

 

 

About Longing Heart

A young, Catholic woman seeking the Lord and living a hidden life in Christ. Embracing the simple, yet profound life of being single in the world. 'He has won us for himself...and you must proclaim what he has done for you. He has called you out of darkness into his own wonderful light.' 1 Peter 2:9
This entry was posted in Marriage, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

