7 Quick Takes

-1- Decided to work up the courage to read a book about St. John of the Cross. I’m glad I did; he is not the intimidating saint I thought he was. He might quickly become a favorite.

-2- I finally found a dress for the upcoming family wedding. (Yah!) I took the risk and bought it on-line, now I hope it comes in time (and that it fits)!

-3- Going to spend some time with just my mom this weekend. The rest of the family is off to the cottage for the weekend, so we’ll have the house to ourselves. Can’t remember the last time that has happened.

-4- Of course, the reason we’re not all going to the cottage is because some of us have to work this weekend. Not looking forward to it, but trying to maintain a positive attitude.

-5- I’ve struggled with daily prayer this week; which is nothing new, but it has definitely been unusually difficult. I’ve been physically exhausted in the mornings and evenings, and have had little motivation for prayer. I’m hoping this changes very soon.

-6- This week I commemorated the 24th birthday and death of a sibling I was unfortunately never able to meet. As a family we’re remembering her short, yet profound and beautiful life, with bouquet of 24 beautiful roses. They sit in a beautiful vase in the kitchen, as a quiet reminder. It is hard trying to find the proper thing to do, but this seems very right. “But do not ignore this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.”  -2 Peter 3:8

-7- And finding comfort in this video; my new favorite song.Very powerful and truthful lyrics.

7 Quick Takes hosted at Conversion Diary. Go there to see many, many more!

About Longing Heart

A young, Catholic woman seeking the Lord and living a hidden life in Christ. Embracing the simple, yet profound life of being single in the world. 'He has won us for himself...and you must proclaim what he has done for you. He has called you out of darkness into his own wonderful light.' 1 Peter 2:9
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

