The Stuff You Use

Seems like songs are the way God had been speaking to me this week. Here is another, ‘This is the Stuff’ by Francesca Battistelli. At first I thought this song was just a light, funny song, but the other day some lyrics stuck out and I realized that the song goes much deeper. In fact, the point of the song happens to be God speaking profoundly through little (often times annoying or inconvenient) things.

But I gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
It might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use

Lately things (mostly relationships) seem to be falling apart in my life, in spite of my prayers that they be mended.

I prayed for more peace at work. Result: my assistant’s position at work was eliminated.

I prayed for a family member who is going down a bad path. Result: life blew-up in his face, and he is farther down a much darker path then I realized.

I prayed for a good friend that God direct her and help her in her discernment. Result: All her plans were up-ended and her roommate was diagnosed with a terminal illness.

It made me want to stop praying and just shout heavenward “Seriously?!” Then a humbling thought came to me (God instilled I’m sure): ‘Prayer is not a drive-thru. God is not your Genie in a lamp.’  How true, and how terrible of me to treat God as if He is so much less than what He is. Humbling.

But I gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
It might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use

So then I tried harder to accept things the way they are. Still praying for things to be made right, but trusting that in everything God works for good with those who love him, who are called according to his purpose (Romans 8:28).

And then I had such a new perspective on the situations, it was as if the situations had changed, even though they hadn’t. I could see how God was working to bring about His Will in these situations. He was working slowly, carefully. First demolishing the unsuitable structure before rebuilding on top of it.

So break me of impatience
Conquer my frustrations
I’ve got a new appreciation
It’s not the end of the world

About Longing Heart

A young, Catholic woman seeking the Lord and living a hidden life in Christ. Embracing the simple, yet profound life of being single in the world. 'He has won us for himself...and you must proclaim what he has done for you. He has called you out of darkness into his own wonderful light.' 1 Peter 2:9
This entry was posted in Life, Music, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

