A Broken Vessel

Faith is so discouraging some days. Sometimes the feeling of being too broken to be fixed is overwhelming. Sometimes it feels as if my brokenness–my sinfulness–and my weaknesses cannot be overcome. I know this is false, but these feelings plague my mind and my heart and I find myself unable to shake them.

On days like this I have learned I MUST stop, pause, and just think. Of course God wants me to be whole. And if God wants me to be whole, He’ll give me the grace to be whole. It is sometimes just that simple.

Satan likes to sow seeds of discord in our hearts. To plant thoughts and feelings that make our situation seem more complicated and too difficult. To make us feel as if we are too broken to be fixed. But the truth is simple. God works best with broken vessels. The more broken the better. Because the more broken we are, the more dependent we are on His grace, the more truthful we are about our condition, and the more we can allow Him to fix us. We must first allow God to fix us before He can begin to do so. But how can God ever fix a vessel that fails to see its brokenness? He can’t.

God desires us to be whole, most ardently. Then why is there so much brokenness in the world? Because He cannot fix us unless we are willing to be fixed. And we are not going to submit to being fixed if we do not know we are broken–if we will not accept we are broken and in need of fixing. I think God spends most of our lives just trying to prove to us how broken we are. The world sees this–the pain, suffering, tragedies–as proof there is no God. I see it as proof there is a God; a God working to heal us. But before we can be healed, we must be broken.

About Longing Heart

A young, Catholic woman seeking the Lord and living a hidden life in Christ. Embracing the simple, yet profound life of being single in the world. 'He has won us for himself...and you must proclaim what he has done for you. He has called you out of darkness into his own wonderful light.' 1 Peter 2:9
This entry was posted in Grace, Meditation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

